Wesley LIBLIN

How vanilla grows

How does vanilla grow?

Vanilla cultivation The vanilla tree , which can reach fifteen meters in length, is a vine with gnarled green, fleshy, cylindrical, branching stems. They cling by adventitious roots of 2…
Tahiti vanilla dessert

Which vanilla to choose?

If vanillin plays an important role in our perception of vanilla, it is nevertheless only the dominant note and the one most easily perceived by our lay noses. Growing conditions,…
The Vanilla World What is a good vanilla?

What is a good vanilla?

We will not talk here in detail about the origin , method of preparation or terroirs, parameters that necessarily influence the flavor of vanilla, but let us stop however on…
Vanilla Bean

What about French vanillas?

With our overseas departments so far from each other, the supply of vanilla in France should be abundant, unfortunately if the development potential is important (like Tahiti) the production deficit…

With our overseas departments so far from each other, the supply of vanilla in France should be abundant, unfortunately if the development potential is important (like Tahiti) the production deficit is important on many DOM.

Tahiti

Along with Reunion Island, Tahiti remains the flagship of French vanilla with a production of about 35 tons of ripe vanilla in 2021 and a growing world demand.

Generous and atypical, Tahitian vanilla has everything to please & to try it is to adopt it. It has indeed what to seduce, fatty, supple, rich in grain with an incomparable aroma and perfume it has no equal to sublimate any dish (dessert or other). We could blame it on its price ? The fleshy and aromatic pods will often make you use only half a pod to spice up any culinary preparation.

Ile de la réunion

With its 2500 km², its famous volcano “le piton de la Fournaise” and its tropical forests, Reunion Island had to reinvent itself and professionalize in order to distinguish itself from its Malagasy and Comorian neighbors, all 3 of which benefit from the “Bourbon” appellation. Production and quality are constantly increasing but the cost of production remains high for this beautiful origin. The offer is oriented on Vanilla Planifolia with finer pods than its sisters of the Indian Ocean. We have found significant differences between the preparers but it remains one of our favorite vanillas, all origins taken into account.

New Caledonia

Last one in the order of arrival of the French vanilla. The production remains confidential and concerns the vanilla Planifolia. Rare and expensive, the market remains to be built and developed for this territory at the end of the world.

Martinique & Guadeloupe

On the 2 islands, the productions remain marginal and are made by some passionate producers who sell their production locally on the markets or directly on the farm. At the level of local authorities (public and political), the will to develop the sector remains largely to be structured to organize a perennial and exporting activity. Like Tahiti and Reunion, our two islands have a very positive image in the minds of consumers and the economic potential could be quite interesting for the Caribbean production.

Guyana

Production remains marginal and is mainly absorbed by the domestic market. The market could however be quite interesting for the only French vanilla which would then be produced on the South American market.

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping
0

Wesley LIBLIN

Comment pousse la vanille

Comment pousse la vanille ?

Culture de vanille Le vanillier, qui peut atteindre quinze mètres de longueur, est une liane à tiges noueuses vertes, charnues, cylindriques, rameuses. Elles s’accrochent par des racines adventives de 2…
dessert divers vanille Tahiti

Quelle vanille choisir ?

Si la vanilline joue un rôle important dans la perception que nous avons de la vanille, elle ne représente cependant que la note dominante et la plus facilement perceptible à…
Le monde la Vanille C'est quoi une bonne vanille ?

C’est quoi une bonne vanille ?

Nous ne parlerons pas ici dans le détail d’origine, de méthode de préparation ou de terroirs, paramètres influençant forcément le parfum de la vanille mais arrêtons nous cependant sur quelques…
Gousse de Vanille

Quid des vanilles Françaises ?

Avec nos DOM (Département d’Outres Mers) aussi éloignés les uns des autres, l’offre en vanille de France devrait être foisonnante, hélas si le potentiel de développement est important (à l’image…

Avec nos DOM (Département d’Outres Mers) aussi éloignés les uns des autres, l’offre en vanille de France devrait être foisonnante, hélas si le potentiel de développement est important (à l’image de Tahiti) le déficit de production est important sur bon nombre de DOM. 

Tahiti

Avec l’Ile de la Réunion, Tahiti reste le porte-drapeau des vanilles Françaises avec une production de l’ordre de 35 tonnes de vanille mûre en 2021 et une demande mondiale croissante.

Généreuse et atypique, la vanille de Tahiti a tout pour plaire & l’essayer c’est l’adopter. Elle a en effet de quoi séduire, grasse, souple, riche en grain avec un arôme et un parfum incomparable elle n’a pas son pareil pour sublimer n’importe quel plat (dessert ou autre). On pourrait lui reprocher son prix ? même pas, les gousses charnues et aromatiques vous feront bien souvent n’utiliser qu’une une demie gousse pour relever n’importe quelle préparation culinaire.

Ile de la réunion

Avec ses 2500 km², son célèbre volcan « le piton de la Fournaise » et ses forêts tropical, l’île de la Réunion, a due véritablement se réinventer et professionnaliser pour se singulariser de ses voisines malgache & comorienne, toutes 3 bénéficiant l’appellation « Bourbon ». Production et qualité son en constante hausse mais les coûts de revient restent élevés pour cette très belle origine. L’offre est orientée sur Vanilla Planifolia avec des gousses plus fines que ces consœurs de l’océan Indien. Nous avons trouvé des différences significatives selon les préparateurs mais elle reste toute origines confondues une de nos vanilles préférées.

Nouvelle Calédonie

Petite dernière dans l’ordre d’arrivée des vanille Française. La production reste confidentielle et concerne la vanilla Planifolia. Rare et cher le marché reste à construire et développer pour ce territoire du bout du monde.

Martinique & Guadeloupe

Sur les 2 iles les productions restent marginales et sont le fait de quelques producteurs passionnés écoulant leur production en local sur les marchés ou directement sur l’exploitation. Au niveau des instances locales, (pouvoirs publique et politiques) la volonté de développer la filière reste largement à structurer pour organiser une activité pérenne et exportatrice. A l’image de Tahiti et de la Réunion, nos deux iles bénéficient d’une image tout à fait positive dans l’esprit des consommateurs et le potentiel économique pourrait être tout à fait intéressant pour la production Caraïbéenne.

Guyane

La production reste marginale et est principalement absorbée par le marché intérieur. Le marché pourrait cependant être tout à fait intéressant pour la seule vanille Française qui serait alors produite sur le marché Sud-américain.

Pour en savoir plus sur la Vanille

Mon panier
Votre panier est vide.

Il semble que vous n'ayez pas encore fait de choix.